Afghanistan – a sad outcome

Peace, joy and pancakes?

 

An assessment of the past 15 years of occupation and war revealed how immensely the US and its allies have failed in Afghanistan. The war in Afghanistan has not made the world any safer. Just like the war against Iraq in 2003, it rather enforced the uprising of terrorist cells around the world. But how is the situation in Afghanistan now?

1 Peace

 

Afghanistan is still not any closer to a peaceful existence. In 2013 the country was – according to the ‘World Peace Index’ of the prestigious British magazine ‘The Economist’ – the least peaceful country in the world. Less peaceful than Iraq, Syria and Somalia.

Within a global categorisation of the failed states (a ​country whose ​government is ​considered to have ​failed at some of ​its ​basic ​responsibilities), Afghanistan ranks 1st place in Asia and 7th place worldwide

More than 100,000 Afghans were killed, among others, by 1,228 cluster bombs and 295,000 individual explosives, which landed in just the first year of the war, reports “Doctors Against Nuclear War”.

2 Taliban

 

As with the withdrawal of the Soviets in 1989, the Taliban rule the rural areas of the country. The national Afghan forces wait disconcerted in the big cities. Every year one third deserts. The Taliban can strike almost at will.

3 Education

 

The situation in the education sector is catastrophic. Afghanistan has the worst average duration of schooling in the whole of Asia.

47% of schools have no school buildings and 75% no toilets. About two-thirds of school-age children don’t even reach the 6th grade.

4 Girls and Women

 

According to the “Reuters Foundation”, Afghanistan is the most dangerous country for women in the world, just ahead of Democratic Republic of Congo.

Only 13% of girls finish school. Whole 30% make it to the 6th grade. Only 50% of 416 districts have a primary or secondary school for girls. And only 20% of girls attend a gymnasium. For years, according to the UN, the Taliban have allowed their girls to attend school in areas where there are already educational infrastructures in place. So actually, for this a war was never needed.

5 Health

 

According to the World Bank, three-quarters of Afghans have no access to safe drinking water. There is no other country in the world where so many children under 5 years suffer from severe malnutrition. Afghanistan has the highest mortality rate in Asia in this age group. When it comes to infant mortality the country is the world’s number one.

6 Corruption

 

Together with North Korea and Somalia, according to “Transparency International”, Afghanistan is the most corrupt country in the world. Also the money laundering index of the Basel Institute “ICAR” ranks Afghanistan as number one.

Afghanistan houses the criminal ‘elite’ of the world.

7 Justice

 

Many provinces are ruled by armed criminal private armies, who have already been in power for years, as well as newly armed warlords. Sometimes both turn out to be secret allies of the NATO. War criminals, as the bloodthirsty General Dostum, are best friends with the United States. American killings of civilians and prisoners are not tracked.

Practices of torture are ignored too, despite all the pretty speeches of the US president. The Afghan judicial system is considered the most corrupt part of all state authorities, even though they are under pressure from the United States. Justice is unheard of in Afghanistan.

 

8 Democracy

 

Democracy as we know it, can’t be found in Afghanistan. Generally, the results of the presidential elections are falsified by all the candidates. After that the winner will be a part of dirty horse-trading with the substantial involvement of the United States.

A success-story!

 

The people of Afghanistan deserve better than to bear the results of a misguided war dominated by western foreign policy.

Conflictfood wants to open up new markets to selected Afghan products and their producers, and to help Afghanistan do better. We visited a women’s collective in the province of Herat, who have managed:

To switch from opium to saffron cultivation!

This is a small success story and we want to promote it.
We bought saffron from the collective for a fair price, paid directly and brought it to you. We thereby strengthen local structures, thus offer people a new perspective and help combat causes of immigration at its roots.

Soon you’ll learn more about the group of women who cultivate this precious saffron!

Read more about Afghanistan

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unseren Webseiten. Durch die Nutzung erklärst Du dich damit einverstanden. Mehr

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Warenkorb (0) Schließen

No products in the cart.

Warenkorb (0) Schließen

No products in the cart.

Afghanistan – eine traurige Bilanz

Friede, Freude, Eierkuchen?

 

Eine Bilanz der vergangenen 15 Jahre Besatzung und Krieg offenbart wie grandios die USA und ihre Verbündeten in Afghanistan gescheitert sind. Der Krieg gegen Afghanistan hat die Welt nicht sicherer gemacht, sondern ist, wie auch der im Jahr 2003 gegen den Irak geführte Krieg, bis heute ein einziges Terrorzuchtprogramm. Und wie ist die Situation in Afghanistan jetzt?

1 Frieden

 

Von Frieden kann in Afghanistan keine Rede sein. Das Land war 2013 nach dem ‚Weltfriedens-Index‘ der angesehenen britischen Zeitschrift ‚The Economist‘ das unfriedlichste Land der Welt. Unfriedlicher als der Irak, Syrien und Somalia.

Unter den ‚gescheiterten Staaten‘ (Staaten in denen grundlegende Funktionen nicht erfüllt werden) nimmt Afghanistan in Asien Platz 1 und weltweit Platz 7 ein.

Über 100.000 Afghanen wurden laut „Ärzte gegen den Atomkrieg“ getötet. Unter anderem mit 1.228 Streubomben und mit je 295.000 Einzelsprengsätzen, die allein im ersten Kriegsjahr zum Einsatz kamen.

2 Taliban

 

Ähnlich wie beim Abzug der Sowjets im Jahr 1989 beherrschen die Taliban die ländlichen Regionen des Landes. Die nationalen afghanischen Truppen aber sitzen verunsichert in den großen Städten. Jedes Jahr desertiert ein Drittel. Die Taliban können fast nach Belieben zuschlagen.

3 Bildung

 

Die Lage im Bildungssektor ist katastrophal. Afghanistan hat den schlechtesten Durchschnittswert in Sachen Schulbesuchsdauer in ganz Asien.

47% der Schulen haben kein Schulgebäude, 75% keine Toiletten. Über zwei Drittel der schulpflichtigen Kinder erreichen nicht einmal die 6. Klasse.

4 Mädchen und Frauen

 

Laut der „Reuters Foundation“ ist Afghanistan für Frauen das gefährlichste Land der Welt, knapp vor der Demokratischen Republik Kongo.

Nur 13% der Mädchen beenden eine Schule. Ganze 30% schaffen es bis zur 6. Klasse. Nur 50% der 416 Distrikte haben eine Haupt- oder Realschule für Mädchen. Und nur 20% ein Mädchen-Gymnasium. Dort wo es Schulen gibt, schicken laut UN übrigens auch die Taliban ihre Mädchen seit Jahren zur Schule. Auch in Gebieten, die von ihnen kontrolliert werden. Ein Krieg war hierzu eigentlich nie nötig.

5 Gesundheit

 

Drei Viertel der Afghanen haben laut Weltbank keinen Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser. In keinem anderen Land der Welt leiden so viele Kinder unter 5 Jahren an schwerer Mangelernährung. Afghanistan hat in dieser Altersgruppe in Asien die höchste Sterblichkeitsrate. Bei der Säuglings-Sterblichkeit liegt das Land weltweit auf Platz 1.

6 Korruption

 

Gemeinsam mit Nord Korea und Somalia gilt Afghanistan laut „Transparancy International“ als das korrupteste Land der Welt. Auch auf dem Geldwäsche-Index des Basler Instituts „ICAR“ liegt Afghanistan auf Platz 1.

In Afghanistan trifft sich die kriminelle ‚Elite‘ der Welt.

7 Justiz

 

In vielen Provinzen treiben kriminelle Privatarmeen nie entwaffneter, ja sogar neu bewaffneter Kriegsfürsten und heimlicher Verbündeter der NATO ihr Unwesen. Kriegsverbrecher wie der blutrünstige General Dostum sind beste Freunde der USA. Amerikanische Morde an Zivilisten und Gefangenen werden nicht verfolgt.

Folter ohnehin nicht. Trotz aller schönen Reden des US-Präsidenten. Der afghanische Justizapparat gilt als der korrupteste Bereich aller staatlichen Behörden. Auch auf Druck der USA. Gerechtigkeit ist in Afghanistan ein Fremdwort.

 

8 Demokratie

 

Auch Demokratie, wie wir sie kennen, gibt es in Afghanistan nicht. Die Ergebnisse der Präsidentschaftswahlen werden in der Regel von allen Kandidaten gefälscht. Anschließend wird der Sieger in einem schmutzigen Kuhhandel unter maßgeblicher Mitwirkung der USA ausgemauschelt.

Eine Erfolgsgeschichte!

 

Die Menschen in Afghanistan haben Besseres verdient, als die Folgen einer fehlgeleiteten und von Krieg beherrschten westlichen Außenpolitik zu erdulden.

Wir von Conflictfood wollen ausgewählten afghanischen Produkten und ihren Produzenten den Zugang zu neuen Absatzmärkten eröffnen, damit es aufwärts geht mit Afghanistan. Dazu haben wir ein Frauenkollektiv in der Provinz Herat besucht, die diesen Schritt geschafft haben:

Weg vom Opium – hin zum Safrananbau!

Solche Erfolgsgeschichten wollen wir weiter fördern.
Wir haben dem Kollektiv Safran abgekauft, gerecht und direkt bezahlt und ihn für euch mitgebracht. Wir stärken dadurch lokale Strukturen, bieten den Menschen ein echte Perspektive und bekämpfen somit Fluchtursachen an der Wurzel.

Demnächst erfahrt ihr mehr über die Gruppe von Frauen, die den kostbaren Safran kultivieren!

Mehr lesen über Afghanistan

Related Post

Schreibe einen Kommentar