The tragedy of the Rohingya, Interview

Ethnic tensions have shaped the multi-ethnic state of Myanmar. In particular, the borderline racist disdain towards a specific group seems very worrying: it is the minority of the Rohingya that prays and looks differently than the Buddhist majority.

About 1.2 million Rohingya live either interned behind barbed wire in camps or are seeking refuge in neighbouring countries. The United Nations call the Rohingya the worst affected of the persecuted ethnic minorities. A sad record that has its origin in the withdrawal of citizenship from the Rohingya in 1982, further escalated by a mass exodus of Rohingya seeking refuge by boat in 2015, and today marked by the killing of thousands while hundreds of thousands are fleeing.

The Burmese army is accused of murder, pillage and mass rape. In addition, some radical Buddhist monks have turned their religion into an aggressive and ultra-nationalist ideology. Their association “Ma Ba Tha” supports the hatred towards the Rohingya and does not shy away from the use of violence

About 1.2 million Rohingya live either interned behind barbed wire in camps or are seeking refuge in neighbouring countries. 

Let’s have a talk with…

Kyaw Soe Aung is himself a Rohingya and represents the positions of his ethnicity in the Democratic and Human Rights Party. We met him for an interview in Yangon.

Mister Kyaw, how is the situation for you in Myanmar?

As Rohingya, we live a stateless existence and are not accepted in our home country. We neither get an ID card nor a passport. We are not allowed to have more than two children due to a birth regulation. We are not allowed to have our Muslim birth names. When we want to marry we have to ask the state of Myanmar for permission. Due to this rule, we often need to wait years before we can be lawfully married. Additionally, we are not allowed to leave the country legally. However, when we succeed leaving the country, we are not permitted to enter the country of Myanmar once again.

Most Rohingya live in the state of Rakhine. In the capital city of Sittwe living feels like an open-air prison. We live in a ghetto that we are not allowed to leave. Other Rohingya live in IDP camps (IDP stands for internally displaced people).

How is life in these camps?

The situation is catastrophic! People do not have access to drinking water and access to foodstuff is scant. There are not enough tents, blankets and barely any sanitary stations. We don’t have schools, doctors, anything. Lots of children suffer from intestinal or dermal infectious diseases. The child mortality rate is high, the number of pregnant woman dying is double than in the rest of Myanmar. Many NGO’s work permission have been withdrawn. Our people are not safe.

Are the Rohingya safe in neighbouring countries?

Tens of thousands of us are fleeing regularly by boat to Bangladesh, Thailand and Malaysia. First, you need to bribe the coast police, to pay the tugs and survive a long and dangerous journey on an overcrowded fishing boat. In Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia, they are sold as work slaves and partly as sex slaves. As stateless people we are endangered to be victims of human trafficking because we are nowhere officially registered as missing.

Kyaw Soe Aung is himself a Rohingya and represents the positions of his ethnicity in the Democratic and Human Rights Party.

How does the government of Myanmar justify the withdrawal of citizenship?

In 1982, the government decided that the ethnicities that have not lived in Myanmar before 1824 should not be citizens of Myanmar. Despite of historic evidence that Rohingya are part of Myanmar for centuries, our citizenship was cancelled. There are various degrees of citizenship and some of them are theoretically accessible for us. In practice, we are hindered due to harassing regulations and in reality this form of citizenship not accessible. As a result, we are stateless. We cannot do anything against the arbitrary treatment by police, military and authorities.

What do you wish for the future?

I wish for peace between the religions and the peoples in Myanmar. Still, the situation has escalated to a degree that is almost unsalvageable without the pressure of the international community. We need to change the legal situation of the Rohingya and other minorities. The world needs to put pressure on the government of Myanmar. We have put great hopes in Aung San Suu Kyi but she is too weak to counter the military and the radical groups of Buddhists in the country. An UN mission by blue helmets would be the first step to ensure a secure future for our people. And NGOs must be given full access to the refugee camps, so the humanitarian catastrophe will finally come to an end.

Thank you.

Read more about Myanmar

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Blog

DIE TRAGÖDOE DER ROHINGYA – EIN INTERVIEW

Ethnische Spannungen prägen den Vielvölkerstaat Myanmar. Besonders traurig erscheint die fast rassistische Verachtung, die einer ganz bestimmten Volksgruppe entgegengebracht wird: Die Rohingya, eine Minderheit, die anders glaubt, anders betet und anders aussieht, als die buddhistische Mehrheit.

Ca. 1,2 Millionen Rohingya leben teilweise gefangen hinter Stacheldraht in Camps oder sind auf der Flucht. Die Vereinten Nationen sehen in den Rohingya die weltweit am stärksten verfolgte Minderheit. Ein trauriger Rekord, der sich durch das Entziehen der Staatsbürgerschaft 1982 aufbaute, 2015 in Massenfluchten mit Schiffen eskalierte und heute wieder dazu führt, dass Tausende getötet werden und Hunderttausende von ihnen auf der Flucht sind.

Der burmesischen Armee werden Morde, Brandschatzung und Massenvergewaltigungen vorgeworfen. Auch radikale buddhistische Mönche haben aus ihrer Religion eine aggressive und ultranationalistische Ideologie gemacht. In ihrer Vereinigung mit dem Namen Ma Ba Tha schüren sie den Hass auf die Rohingya und schrecken nicht vor Gewalt zurück.

Ca. 1,2 Millionen Rohingya leben teilweise gefangen hinter Stacheldraht in Camps oder sind auf der Flucht. 

Im Gespräch mit…

Kyaw Soe Aung ist selbst Rohingya und vertritt die Positionen seiner Volksgruppe in der Partei Democratic and Human Rights Party. In Yangon treffen wir ihn zu einem Gespräch.

Herr Kyaw, wie ist die Situation für Sie in Myanmar?

Als Rohingya leben wir staatenlos und sind in unserer Heimat nicht anerkannt. Wir bekommen keinen Ausweis oder Pass, eine Geburtenregelung  erlaubt uns nicht mehr als zwei Kinder zu bekommen. Unsere muslimischen Geburtsnamen dürfen wir auch nicht tragen. Wenn wir heiraten wollen, müssen wir um staatliche Erlaubnis bitten, auf diese warten wir oft viele Jahre. Legal ausreisen dürfen wir sowieso nicht. Sollte uns dies doch gelingen, dürfen wir nicht wieder zurück in die Heimat.

Die meisten Rohingya leben im Bundesstaat Rakhine. In der Hauptstadt Sittwe leben die meisten wie in einem Freiluftgefängnis, abgeriegelt in einem Ghetto. Oder in einem der vielen sogenannten IDP-Camps, also Lager für Binnengeflüchtete.

Wie ist die Situation in diesen Lagern?

Die Lage ist katastrophal! Die Menschen haben kaum Zugang zu Trinkwasser, viel zu wenig Nahrungsmittel, Zelte, Decken und fast keine sanitäre Anlagen. Es gibt keine Schulen, keine Ärzte, nichts. Viele Kinder leiden zum großen Teil unter Darm- sowie auch ansteckenden Hautkrankheiten. Die Kindersterblichkeit ist hoch, doppelt so viele schwangere Frauen sterben hier als in gesamt Myanmar. Die Behörden regulieren den Zugang für internationale NGOs sehr streng. Viele Hilfsorganisationen werden sogar aus der Region verwiesen. Unser Volk ist nicht sicher.

Gibt es Sicherheit in den Nachbarländern?

Zehntausende von uns fliehen regelmäßig mit Booten in Richtung Bangladesch, Thailand und Malaysia. Dafür gilt es zuerst die Polizei an der Küste zu bestechen, die Schmuggler zu bezahlen und eine lange und gefährliche Reise auf einem überfüllten Fischerboot zu überleben. In Thailand, Indonesien und Malaysia werden viele als Arbeitssklaven oder teilweise Sexarbeiterinnen verkauft. Als staatenlose Menschen sind wir besonders gefährdet, Opfer von Menschenhandel zu werden. Wir werden nirgendwo offiziell vermisst.

Kyaw Soe Aung ist selbst Rohingya und vertritt die Positionen seiner Volksgruppe in der Partei Democratic and Human Rights Party.

Wie kam es zur Staatenlosigkeit?

Im Jahr 1982 beschloss die Regierung, jenen Volksgruppen die Staatsbürgerschaft abzuerkennen, die nicht vor 1824 in Myanmar ansässig waren. Obwohl historische Belege den Nachweis liefern, dass wir Rohingya seit Jahrhunderten Teil des Landes und der Gesellschaft sind, wurde uns die Staatsbürgerschaft entzogen. Es gibt zwar mindere Bürgerschaftsgrade und diese sind uns theoretisch zugänglich. In der Praxis allerdings wird der Zugang durch schikanöse Bestimmungen blockiert und de facto unmöglich gemacht. Daher die Staatenlosigkeit. Wir sind der Willkür von Polizei, Militär und Behörden weitgehend schutzlos ausgeliefert.

Was wünschen Sie sich für die Zukunft?

Ich wünsche mir Frieden zwischen den Religionen und den hier lebenden Völkern. Doch leider ist die Situation soweit eskaliert, das es ohne den Druck der internationalen Gemeinschaft schwer wird, die rechtliche Situation der Rohingya  aber auch anderer Minderheiten zu verbessern. Die Welt muss auf die Regierung von Myanmar Druck ausüben. Wir haben große Hoffnungen auf Aung San Suu Kyi gesetzt aber sie ist zu schwach gegenüber den Militärs und den radikalen Buddhisten-Gruppen im Land. Eine Blauhelm-Mission wäre ein erster wichtiger Schritt, um unserem Volk eine sichere Zukunft zu ermöglichen.

Und den NGOs muss wieder uneingeschränkter Zugang in die Geflüchteten-Camps gewährt werden, sodass die humanitäre Katastrophe endlich ein Ende hat.

Danke.

Lies mehr über Myanmar

Related Post

Schreibe einen Kommentar