Back flips on the ruins of Kabul

Afghanistan’s youth is rebelling against economic and social ruin. In the capital Kabul a group of youngsters joined together using their whole bodily strength to run into a new future.

Something is changing in Kabul. A group of youngsters refuse to accept a status of unemployment and a hopeless future. The Kabul Parkour Boys – Afghan pioneers of the acrobatic type of sport called parkour – are using the ruins of the former presidential palace as a training ground. As Kabul’s little sensation they have even already appeared on national TV. During our trip trough Afghanistan we have spend one exciting day with those moving survival artists.

 

For six years now the Kabul Parkour Boys are training together crossing the whole city. When doing Parkour the aim is to overcome urban obstacles with acrobatic movements; more precisely, practitioners want to get from one point to another using their body in the most efficient and creative way. With breathtaking speed the colourfully dressed boys are spinning through the abandoned rooms of the palace, climbing crumbling walls doing back flips – a powerful contrast program to economic stagnation, hopelessness and the dreariness of the war.

 

Most of the time the group trains at the ruins of the Darul Aman Palace. Built in the 1920s by King Amanullah, originally, the Western style palace was supposed to host the parliament. But the rise of the King’s enemies soon thwarted Amanullah’s plans of modernisation. After being severely damaged in 1969 by a big fire, the building was never inaugurated again. The name of palace – literally meaning ‚The Abode of Peace’ – is also the motto of the Parkour boys.

Growing up with a lack of prospects

 

Afghanistan is struggling with problems that according to Western standards characterise many of the least developed regions of the world: a chronically weak economy, a rapid population growth and a deficient social system. Many young Afghans can not look into a bright future. Two thirds of the population are under 25 years old, almost eight out of ten youngsters name unemployment as their worst concern. A report published by the Afghan government and the UN uncovers the alarming effects of the hopelessness: Nowhere on the planet so much opium is produced, nowhere so many young people are making use of the countries own drug production.

Mobility as a survival strategy

 

For decades mobility and movement have been Afghan survival strategies to escape from war destruction and personal insecurities. In a survey of the international broadcasting companies ARD, BBC and ABC almost half of the Afghans indicated that they did not feel sufficiently protected from the Taliban during war times when international troops where stationed at Afghanistan. According to the United Nations Assistance Mission the security situation further aggravated after the withdrawal of the international troops since 2011. Consequently, foreign investors and trade companies stopped their cooperation with Afghan businesses, international sources of capital were drying up and unemployment increased immensely.

 

Contrary to the prevailing scenario of threatening waves of refugees – mostly fuelled through the news coverage of Western media – the movement of the Afghan population mostly remains internal migration. 30 percent of the Afghan population are living in cities. Even though the situation is the most precarious in rural areas – especially for women – the living conditions and competition for scarce jobs are also getting worse in urban centres. Jamil, one of the founders of the Kabul Parkour Boys told us: “Half of our group is unemployed, studying or still goes to school.” What the future may be like? Nobody knows that.

Those who do not move, do not notice their chains.

 

Nevertheless they want to show the world that that Kabul has more to offer than the terror, war and drug trafficking constantly communicated by the media. They do Parkour to change their world. Jamil: “We train hard everyday in this dangerous environment. With Parkour we want to give the youth of Kabul the possibility to do sports without being a target for attacks. Parkour has become our life and with it we want to build up our future, to inspire Afghan Youth.”

Thus far, the group doesn’t have any sponsor. That’s why it is an important goal to collect donations to buy equipment and so be able to train in a sports center, regardless of adverse weather conditions. Therefore making it possible for Parkour girls to also participate in the future.

The start of the donation series Make Saltos Not War will be a charity dinner 5.Feb. 2017, whose net proceeds will be handed over to the Kabul Parkour Boys in Afghanistan by Conflictfood in November 2017. Conflictfood has brought all kinds of delicacies from Afghanistan and the team of the To Beef Or Not To Beef will conjure them into magnificent dishes. Prepare for culinary somersaults!

More  information and tickets here:  Make Saltos Not War!

Read more about Afghanistan

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unseren Webseiten. Durch die Nutzung erklärst Du dich damit einverstanden. Mehr

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Blog

SALTOS AUF DEN RUINEN VON KABUL

In Kabul bewegt sich etwas: Eine Gruppe Jugendlicher weigert sich, Arbeitslosigkeit und eine aussichtslose Zukunft zu akzeptieren. Die Kabul Parkour Boys sind afghanische Pioniere der Sportart Parkour und haben sich die Ruinen des ehemaligen Parlamentspalastes zum Spielplatz gemacht. Als Kabuls kleine Sensation sind sie sogar schon im nationalen Fernsehen aufgetreten. Während unserer Afghanistan-Reise haben wir einen beeindruckenden Tag mit den Bewegungs- und Überlebenskünstlern verbracht.

Beim Parkour werden urbane Hindernisse durch akrobatische Bewegungen überwunden, um möglichst schnell und kreativ von A nach B zu kommen. Mit einer atemberaubenden Geschwindigkeit wirbeln die Jungs in ihren bunten Sweatshirts durch die verlassenen Gebäude, springen die bröckelnden Wände hoch und schlagen Saltos – ein Kontrastprogramm zu wirtschaftlicher Stagnation, Hoffnungslosigkeit und Tristesse des Krieges.

Seit fünf Jahren trainieren die Gruppe der Jungs in unterschiedlichen Ecken der Hauptstadt. Am liebsten treffen sie sich aber in den Ruinen des Darul Aman Palastes. Der Prunkpalast wurde in den 1920er Jahren von König Amanullah errichtet und sollte ursprünglich das Parlament beherbergen. Aber der Aufstieg der Gegner der Monarchie vereitelte Amanullahs Modernisierungspläne. 1969 wurde das Gebäude durch einen Brand schwer zerstört und danach nie wieder in Betrieb genommen. Der Name des Palastes bedeutet so viel wie ‚Wohnsitz der Hoffnung’ – das Motto der Parkour Boys.

Aufwachsen in Perspektivlosigkeit

 

Afghanistan hat mit den klassischen Problemen – gemessen an westlichen Standards – der weltweit am wenigsten entwickelten Länder zu kämpfen: eine chronisch schwache Wirtschaft, ein schnelles Bevölkerungswachstum und ein mangelhaftes Sozialsystem. Für viele junge Afghanen sieht die Zukunft alles andere als rosig aus. Zwei Drittel der Bevölkerung sind unter 25 Jahren alt, fast acht von zehn Jugendlichen nennen Arbeitslosigkeit als eine ihrer größten Sorgen. Dass diese Perspektivlosigkeit dramatische Folgen haben kann, zeigt ein Bericht der afghanischen Regierung und der UN: Nirgendwo auf der Welt blühen so viele Mohnfelder, nirgendwo sind so viele junge Menschen von den national produzierten Drogen abhängig.

Mobilität als Überlebensstrategie

 

Mobilität und Bewegung sind seit Jahrzehnten afghanische Überlebensstrategien, um vor den Zerstörungen des Krieges und der daraus resultierenden Unsicherheit zu entkommen. In einer Umfrage der TV-Sender ARD, BBC und ABC gab die Hälfte der Bevölkerung an, dass sie sich bereits während der Stationierung von internationalen Truppen nicht ausreichend vor den Taliban geschützt fühlten. Nach dem schrittweisen Abzug der internationalen Truppen seit 2011 hat sich laut United Nations Assistance Mission in Afghanistan die Sicherheitslage im Land noch verschärft. Auch deshalb stoppten ausländische Investoren und Handelsunternehmen ihre Kooperation mit afghanischen Unternehmen, international gespeiste Geldquellen versiegten und die Arbeitslosigkeit stieg drastisch an.

 

Anders als im von westlichen Medien verbreiteten Szenario der drohenden Flüchtlingswellen gen Europa, entspricht die afghanische Bevölkerungsbewegung größtenteils einer Binnenmigration. Denn den höchsten Zustrom erfahren die afghanischen Städte selbst. 30 Prozent der afghanischen Bevölkerung leben derzeit in Städten. Obwohl die Lage der jungen – insbesondere weiblichen – Bevölkerung in ländlichen Regionen am aussichtslosesten ist, erhöht sich auch in den urbanen Zentren die Konkurrenz um rare Arbeitsplätze. Die Lebensbedingungen verschärfen sich. Jamil, der Gründer der Kabul Parkour Boys erzählte uns: „Die Hälfte von uns ist arbeitslos, studiert oder geht noch zur Schule. Unsere finanzielle Situation ist extrem schlecht“. Was die Zukunft bringt? Das weiß keiner von ihnen.

Wer sich nicht bewegt, spürt seine Fesseln nicht

 

Trotzdem wollen sie der Welt zeigen, dass es hier in Kabul auch etwas anderes gibt als Terror, Krieg und Drogenhandel – wie es täglich in den Medien vermittelt wird. Mit ihrer Akrobatik wollen die Boys sich und die Welt bewegen. Jamil: „Jeden Tag trainieren wir hart in diesem gefährlichen Umfeld. Wir wollen jungen Afghanen die Möglichkeit bieten Sport zu machen, ohne ständig zu fürchten, das Opfer von Anschlägen zu werden. Parkour ist unser Leben. Wir wollen die Jugend hier inspirieren, ihre eigene Zukunft in die Hand zu nehmen.“

 

Bisher hat die Gruppe noch keinen Sponsor. Deshalb ist es ein wichtiges Ziel, Spenden zu sammeln, um Equipment zu kaufen und bald unabhängig von widrigen Wetterverhältnissen in einer Sporthalle trainieren zu können. Dann können in Zukunft auch Parkour Girls mitmachen.

 

Den Auftakt der Spendenreihe Make Saltos Not War macht das Benefiz-Dinner „Make Saltos Not War“ im Berliner „To Beef Or Not To Beef“ am 5. Februar 2017. Den Reinerlös wird Conflictfood im November 2017 den Kabul Parkour Boys in Afghanistan übergeben.

Mehr Infos sowie Tickets für das Benefiz-Dinner gibt es hier: Make Saltos Not War!

Mehr lesen über Afghanistan

Related Post

Schreibe einen Kommentar