The gardener in the palace ruin

If there was flourishing tourism in Afghanistan’s capital Kabul, the „Darul-Aman“ palace would be the place to go for tourists. But the king’s palace in Kabul’s centre is a heap of rubbles. Around the place you won’t meet many tourists. But we from Conflictfood ended up exactly in this destroyed ruin. We encounter the aged Mohammed Kabil, the former gardener of this palace. There is no more royal garden, but Mohammed gardened for decades with passion between the ruined walls. We talk to him about the past and future of the palace:

“i have seen king amanullah khan plan and build this western style palace and gardens in the 1920s. the king thanked me twice for my work in his garden, that’s my best memory”

The palace was later used as the Ministry of Defense. Mohammed took care of the vegetable garden, which fed the soldiers residing there.

Even today, the older man puts his heart and soul in the care of a wide variety of plants and flowers. He plants the seeds of the wildest and most colorful flowers into the dry soil, irrigates the earth, and looks after their growth with watchful eye. This creates an impressive and at the same time surreal picture: blooming flowers between dilapidated and battered walls.

Historically, at this point actually splendid should arise. In the days of Ammanullah Kahn, king of Afghanistan from 1926-1929, “Darul Aman” should also become the future home of the Afghan parliament and the representative center of a modern, independent and progressive Afghanistan.

However, these bold plans soon came to an abrupt end when King Kahn resigned from the political scene. Instead, the palace is today a symbol of a land in ruins. For decades it was the scene of battles, fire and bombardment. The palace burned out in 1969, after the communist takeover in 1978, it was once again in flames. Throughout the years several rival groups vandalized the complex entirely.

The Afghan government has already raised more than 20 million euros for its reconstruction through fundraising in recent years and is planning a museum, a park and a parliament building, among other things. In time for the 100th anniversary of Afghan independence, the building and park will be reopened in August 2019. This is probably also the dream of the keen gardener:

“it is my dearest desire to see the palace rebuilt, to walk through the gardens of the palace and admire the green surroundings- the fruits of my work”

Video showing recent restaurations on “Darul Aman” palace

Read similar articles

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unseren Webseiten. Durch die Nutzung erklärst Du dich damit einverstanden. Mehr

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Warenkorb (0) Schließen

No products in the cart.

Warenkorb (0) Schließen

No products in the cart.

Conflictfood besucht den Gärtner der Palastruine

Würde es florierenden Tourismus in Afghanistans Hauptstadt Kabul geben, so wäre vermutlich der Palast „Darul-Aman“ die Touristenattraktion schlechthin. Aber der Königspalast in Kabuls Zentrum ist ein Trümmerhaufen. Hierhin zieht es nur wenige Touristen. Uns von Conflictfood verschlägt es dennoch in die zerstörte Ruine. Wir treffen auf den betagten Mohammed Kabil, den ehemaligen Gärtner des Palastes. Königsgarten gibt es keinen mehr, dennoch gärtnert Mohammed seit Jahrzehnten mit Leidenschaft in den Gemäuern:

„ich habe selbst erlebt , wie könig amanullah khan diesen palast und garten im westlichen stil in den 1920er jahren planen und errichten ließ. zwei mal hat mir der könig persönlich für meine arbeit in seinem garten gedankt.“

Der Palast war später als Verteidigungsministerium umgenutzt worden. Mohammed kümmerte sich um den Gemüsegarten, der die dort residierenden Soldaten ernährte.

Auch heute noch steckt der ältere Herr sein ganzes Herzblut in die Hege und Pflege der unterschiedlichsten Pflanzen und Blumen. Er befördert die Samen der wildesten und farbenfrohesten Pflanzen in die sonst so trockenen Böden, bewässert die Erde, und betreut mit wachendem Auge ihr Wachstum. Dies schafft ein eindrucksvolles und zugleich surreales Bild: Blühende Blumen zwischen verfallenem und zerschossenem Gemäuer.

Historisch gesehen, sollte an dieser Stelle eigentlich Prunkvolles entstehen. Zu Zeiten von Ammanullah Kahn, König Afghanistans von 1926-1929, sollte „Darul Aman“, zugleich zukünftige Heimat des afghanischen Parlaments und repräsentative Zentrum eines modernen, unabhängigen und progressiven Afghanistans werden.

Diese kühnen Pläne fanden jedoch bald ein jähes Ende, als  König Kahn von der politischen Bühne zurücktrat. Stattdessen ist der Palast heute Symbol für ein Land in  Schutt und Asche. Jahrzehntelang war er nämlich Schauplatz von Gefechten, Feuer & Bombardements. Der Palast brannte 1969 vollkommen aus und auch nach der kommunistischen Machtübernahme 1978 stand er erneut in Flammen. Darüberhinaus hinterließen verschiedenste rivalisierende Truppen ihre Spuren.

Die afghanische Regierung hat durch Fundraising in den letzten Jahren bereits über 20 Millionen Euro für den Wiederaufbau gesammelt und plant unter anderem ein Museum, einen Park und ein Parlamentsgebäude. Rechtzeitig zum 100 jährigen Jubiläum der  afghanischen Unabhängigkeit soll das Gebäude und der Park im August 2019 wieder eröffnet werden.  Dies ist wohl auch der Traum des eifrigen Gärtner:

„es ist mein sehnlichster wunsch den Palast wiederaufgebaut zu sehen, durch die gärten zu spazieren und die grüne umgebung -die früchte meiner arbeit zu bewundern“

Video zu den aktuellen Restaurationsarbeiten am Palast „Darul-Aman“

Ähnliche Artikel lesen

Related Post

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unseren Webseiten. Durch die Nutzung erklärst Du dich damit einverstanden. Mehr

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close