A journey to the origin of the teas, Part 2

In our last blogpost you could join the team of Conflictfood on shaky rails through the green jungle of Shan-State. Today we continue our journey to the origin of the teas:

As we reach Hsipaw the sun is standing high up in the sky. On the train platform women balance wide baskets on top of their heads and hand out lunch meals through the windows. Shan-tofu, rice noodles, corn cobs, fried rice, slices of mango, fresh pineapple; there is something for everyone. Here all of the young backpackers are disembarking because Hsipaw is known as a paradise for hikers and adventurers.

At the train station we meet Yar Mar Myat Aye. Her whole body sunken, she sits there surrounded by a mountain of bags, fruits, garments and all kinds of other household stuff. Her remote village no longer offers her and her family any safety. The 80-year-old Yar Mar Myat Aye is in flight.

With a low voice she tells us about military arbitrariness, about gunfire every night. She herself is a Ta’ang. For many generations Yar Mar Myat Aye’s family has been cultivating tea. She doesn’t know anything else but the harvesting along the bushes and the drying on the mats made out of palm leaves. Proudly she presents a bulging bag of tea from her last harvest which she brings out from underneath her stuff.

HSIPAW – Here all of the young backpackers are disembarking. it is known as a paradise for hikers and adventurers.

The call from the locomotive prompts the remaining passengers to re-embark. The train rolls on through the hilly landscape which gradually turns into a spectacular red sunset.

Right before midnight, after 20 hours travelling and 188 kilometres crossed the train reaches its destination Lashio. In the small trading town one can feel the proximity to the Chinese border. Farmers from the surrounding areas, businessmen from the neighbouring countries and smugglers hope to make big money here in the golden triangle. Or they are, just like us, simply in transit. Tired from the wobbly train journey we let ourselves fall onto our beds in the hotel exhausted.

Early in the morning we are rudely awakened. The church bells in Lashio are calling the Christian community loudly for Sunday prayer. The small town is even the seat of the bishop. Since Portuguese missionaries in the 16th century also spread the word of God in Myanmar, today around one per cent of the population is Roman Catholic. We visit the ornate church which is filled to its maximum capacity. Everyone there sings the church songs with great ardour. The topic for discussion after the mass is the group of fleeing farmers who a day ago arrived in town and are now hosted in the neighbouring Buddhist convent.

The 80-year-old Yar Mar Myat Aye is in flight. With a low voice she tells us about military arbitrariness, about gunfire every night.

She herself is a Ta’ang.

We drive to the convent to talk to the ‘new arrivals’. They are tea farmers from a remote valley in the North, a dozen families, over 70 people. Three days ago there had been violent riots in their village so they had to flee in the dead of night. The grief over a lost family member who has been killed through the government army is still written in their faces. In the convent they are getting a place to sleep and a warm meal. For now the social net in the Shan State is still functioning so that individual groups of refugees are received and provided for. Often they get split up according to their religion but sometimes they are also scattered in an indiscriminate manner.

Join us on our journey to the origin of the teas! Our next and last blogpost will bring us to the lush and green but fiercely disputed mountains of North-Shan. Read more in our next blogpost!

Did you know that the aromatic, fruity green tea and velvet black tea from the conflict-stricken region of the North-Shan is available in our online shop? get it here.

Find our Conflictfood Teas here

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unseren Webseiten. Durch die Nutzung erklärst Du dich damit einverstanden. Mehr

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Blog

REISE ZUM URSPRUNG DES TEES – TEIL 2

Im vorherigen Beitrag konntest du das Team von Conflictfood auf wackeligen Schienen durch den Dschungel begleiten.  Komm mit auf die Reise zum Ursprung des Tees!

Herzlich Willkommen ins Hsipaw!

Die Sonne steht mittlerweile hoch am Himmel und wir erreichen Hsipaw. Am Bahnsteig balancieren dutzende Frauen ausladende Körbe auf den Köpfen und reichen köstliche Mittagsgerichte durch die Fenster. Shan-Tofu, Reisnudeln, Maiskolben, gebratener Reis, Mangoscheiben, frische Ananas, für jeden ist etwas dabei. Spätestens hier steigen all die jungen Rucksacktouristen aus, denn Hsipaw gilt als Paradies für Wanderer und Abenteurer.

Mit 80 Jahren auf der Flucht

Am Bahnhof treffen wir Yar Mar Myat Aye. In sich versunken sitzt sie da, umgeben von einem Berg Taschen und Tüten, Früchten, Stoffen und allerlei Hausrat.

Ihr entlegenes Dorf bietet ihr und ihrer Familie keine Sicherheit mehr, mit ihren 80 Jahren ist Yar Mar Myat Aye auf der Flucht. Mit leiser Stimme erzählt sie von Militärwillkür, von Schüssen, jede Nacht. Auch sie ist eine Ta’ang. Seit vielen Generationen baut Yar Mar Myat Ayes Familie Tee an, sie kennt gar nichts anderes als die Erntearbeit an den Büschen und das Trocknen auf den Matten aus Palmblättern. Stolz zeigt sie uns einen prallen Sack voll Tee aus ihrer letzten Ernte, den sie zwischen ihren Sachen hervorholt.

Die Rufe aus der Lokomotive fordern die Fahrgäste, einzusteigen. Der Zug rollt weiter durch hügelige Landschaften, die sich nach und nach in spektakuläres Abendrot tauchen.

Kurz vor Mitternacht, nach 20 Stunden Fahrt und 188 Kilometer Strecke, erreicht der Zug seinen Endbahnhof Lashio. In der kleinen Handelsstadt spürt man die Nähe zur chinesischen Grenze. Bauern aus der Umgebung, Geschäftsleute aus den Nachbarländern und Schmuggler hoffen hier im Goldenen Dreieck auf das große Geld oder sind so wie wir schlicht auf der Durchreise. Müde von der wackeligen Zugfahrt lassen wir uns im Hotel erschöpft in die Betten fallen.

Von katholischen Kirchen und buddhistischen Klöstern

Früh morgens werden wir unsanft aus dem Schlaf gerissen, es läuten in Lashio lautstark die Kirchenglocken und rufen die christliche Gemeinde zum Sonntagsgebet. Das kleine Städtchen ist sogar Bischofsitz. Seit portugiesische Missionare im 16. Jahrhundert auch ihr Wort Gottes in Myanmar verkündeten, ist heute ungefähr ein Prozent der Bevölkerung römisch-katholisch. Wir besuchen die schmucke Kirche, sie ist bis auf den letzten Platz besetzt und voller Inbrunst singt jeder der Besucher die Kirchenlieder mit. Das Gesprächsthema nach der Messe ist die neue Gruppe an Geflüchteten Bauern, die tags zuvor in die Stadt kamen und nun im benachbarten buddhistischen Kloster beherbergt sind.

Wir fahren zu dem Kloster, um mit den „Neuankömmlingen“ zu sprechen. Es sind Teebauern aus einem entlegenen Tal im Norden, ein Dutzend Familien, über 70 Menschen In ihrem Dorf kam es vor drei Tagen zu gewalttätigen Ausschreitungen und sie mussten bei Nacht und Nebel flüchten. Die Trauer um ein Familienmitglied, dass durch die Regierungsarmee getötet wurde, ist den Angehörigen noch ins Gesicht geschrieben. Im Kloster finden sie nun alle einen Schlafplatz und eine warme Mahlzeit. Noch funktioniert das soziale Netz im Shan-Staat, einzelne Gruppen von Geflüchteten werden aufgenommen und versorgt. Oft werden sie nach ihrer Religionszugehörigkeit aufgeteilt, manchmal aber kunterbunt verstreut.

Die Reise zum Ursprung des Tees geht weiter! Begleite uns nach Kutkai, dem Herzen des Teeanbaus in den stark umkämpften Bergen des Nord-Shan. Mehr im dritten und letzten Teil unserer Reise zum Ursprung des Tees!

SHOP

Related Post

Schreibe einen Kommentar